Traffic Offenses / DUI Defense

dui_thumbA conviction for a traffic matter can have major consequences. If you are convicted of a moving violation (such as speeding, reckless driving or drunk driving), you may face:

  • Losing your driver’s license
  • Incurring high fines
  • Higher insurance rates
  • Vehicle forfeiture
  • Jail or prison time

Corales & Woody, LLC is dedicated to obtaining the most favorable outcome for its clients in all traffic cases, from simple speeding to vehicular homicide.

Criminal traffic offenses include:

  • Driving under the influence (DUI)
  • Driving with a suspended or revoked license
  • Reckless driving
  • Driving with an open container
  • Leaving the scene of an accident (Hit and Run)
  • Racing
  • Speeding
  • Vehicular Homicide
  • Super Speeder Violation
  • Move-Over Violation

Don’t hesitate! Some license penalties, particularly in DUI cases, are imposed before your case even gets to court. Fast action by a qualified attorney can save your license.

Under 21 years old

If you are less than 21 years old, certain traffic offenses will result in your license being suspended even after you pay the fine.  These offenses include:

  • Leaving the scene of an accident (Hit and Run)
  • Racing on highways or streets
  • Fleeing or attempting to elude an officer, using a motor vehicle
  • Reckless driving
  • Any offense for which four or more points are assessable under subsection (c) of Code Section 40-5-57 (Unlawful passing of a school bus, Improper passing on a hill or curve, Exceeding the speed limit by 24 miles per hour or more)
  • Aggressive Driving.

Taking action quickly can save your license! When you hire Corales & Woody, LLC to handle your Under-21 traffic case, you can rest assured that we will aggressively defend your right to drive.

Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs

The State of Georgia has some of the harshest DUI laws in the country. Every case is different, so it is essential to have an experienced attorney review your case and explain all of your options in detail.  Below is a summary of Georgia DUI law.

Penalties

  • First DUI in last 10 years: $300-$1,000 fine, 10 days-12 months in jail (24 hours minimum), 12 months probation, 40 hours of community service minimum, Risk Reduction Program (DUI Class), Substance Abuse Evaluation and recommended treatment.
  • Second DUI in last 10 years: $600-$1,000 fine, 90 days-12 months in jail (72 hours minimum), 12 months probation, 30 days of community service minimum, Risk Reduction Program (DUI Class), Substance Abuse Evaluation and recommended treatment.
  • Third DUI in last 10 years: $1,000-$5,000 fine, 120 days-12 months in jail (15 days minimum), 12 months probation, 30 days of community service minimum, Risk Reduction Program (DUI Class), Substance Abuse Evaluation and recommended treatment.
  • Fourth or more DUI in last 10 years (Felony DUI): $1,000-$5,000 fine, 1-5 years in prison, 5 years probation, 60 days of community service minimum, Risk Reduction Program (DUI Class), Substance Abuse Evaluation and recommended treatment.

License Suspension

The period of time that your license is suspended on a DUI varies with the circumstances of the case. If you blow into the intoxilyzer (breath test) and the result is a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or higher, or if you refuse the intoxilyzer test, then your license will be ADMINISTRATIVELY SUSPENDED for 12 months. This begins right away and is a separate suspension from the one you receive if you are later found guilty of DUI in court. To fight this suspension, you must request a hearing WITHIN 10 BUSINESS DAYS OF YOUR ARREST. This is why it is extremely important that you contact an attorney as soon as possible after a DUI arrest.

If you are later convicted of a DUI, the suspensions are as follows:

  • First DUI in the last 5 years: 12-month suspension (possible reinstatement after 120 days if Risk Reduction Program is completed and reinstatement fee is paid)
  • Second DUI in the last 5 years: 3-year suspension (possible reinstatement after 18 months if Risk Reduction Program is completed and reinstatement fee is paid)
  • Third DUI in the last 5 years: 5-year suspension (no early reinstatement)

On a first DUI in 5 years, you are eligible for a temporary permit that will allow you to drive legally, on a limited basis, for the first 120 days of your suspension. This temporary permit is not available, however, if you are under a 12-month administrative license suspension for refusing to blow into the Intoxilyzer (breath test) upon your arrest. Furthermore, if the administrative license suspension sticks, you will not be allowed early reinstatement of your license. It is very important to contact an attorney as soon as possible after your DUI arrest so that a hearing can be requested to fight any administrative license suspensions.

Contact us today for a free consultation. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and 365 days a year. Your phone call will be answered.